General precautions for storage areas - CCI Notes 1/1

CCI Note 1/1 is part of CCI Notes Series 1 (Care of Collections - General Guidelines)

(PDF Version, 1.41 MB) *

Introduction

Most museums are able to display only a small percentage of their holdings, so many artifacts must spend the majority of their museum lives in storage. These objects in storage are just as important as those on display, and require the same quality of long-term protection. Well-designed storage facilities that are regularly maintained are therefore of primary importance. This Note is a basic introduction to this complex subject, and includes reading lists at the end of each section for further study.

The Storage Area

Location

Collection storage areas are best located away from public areas. They should be in the centre of the building away from exterior walls, and have no narrow corridors, sharply angled access ways, stairs, or narrow doors (the better the access, the less the potential for neglect). Basements and attics are usually not appropriate due to temperature fluctuations, extremes of relative humidity (RH), and potential leaks or floods.

Water damage is a threat to storage areas in any location in a museum or gallery. Water or steam pipes are a hazard due to potential leaks and condensation, so locate storage areas away from pipes or, if this is not possible, inspect the pipes regularly. If there is any risk of flooding, locate storage areas above the flood plain; install water detectors and sump pumps if necessary. As a further precaution, store objects off the floor on shelves, platforms, or blocks, and cover them loosely with plastic sheeting.

Store artifacts in a different location than non-collection items (e.g. display props, packing boxes or materials, paint, tools, and other supplies) if possible.

Keep a separate storage location for new artifacts and other materials entering the museum. In this temporary holding area the objects can acclimatize slowly to the museum's environment before being unpacked and inspected. Objects with insect infestations or mould growth can be isolated in this area, thus preventing spread through the rest of the museum.

Storage units

Different categories of objects require different storage methods, e.g. screens, racks, metal or wood shelving, metal or wood cabinets, drawing cabinets, platforms, and rolled storage. The choice of method and material depends on the resources available to the institution and on the type of artifact being stored. Whatever kind of unit is chosen, it should be made of materials that are chemically inert and have good long-term stability. The same rules apply to wrapping, padding, and support materials. Paints or other finishes used on storage systems should also be of proven stability.

Top of page

Procedures

For seasonal museums that are closed or unheated during the winter, drain pipes in the fall to prevent freezing. Inspect roofs, uninsulated walls, overhead pipes, and other fittings regularly for signs of leakage or condensation.

Prohibit smoking and the storage or consumption of food and beverages in storage areas, and post appropriate signs.

Keep collection storage rooms locked, with entry to the storage area and movement of objects into or out of storage controlled by authorized personnel.

Ensure that work not related to the function of the storage room is done elsewhere (i.e. preparing exhibition furniture, framing works, packing artifacts for travel, and similar activities should not be carried out in a storage area). Use work stations within the storage only for tasks related to documentation and movement of the collection.

Further reading

CCI Notes (Ottawa: Canadian Conservation Institute):
  1. 1/3 Closing a Museum for the Winter, 1988.
  2. 3/1 Preventing Infestations: Control Strategies and Detection Methods, 1996.
  3. 14/2 Emergency Preparedness for Cultural Institutions: Identifying and Reducing Hazards, 1995.
CCI Technical Bulletins (Ottawa: Canadian Conservation Institute)
  1. No. 12 Controlling Museum Fungal Problems, 1991.
  2. No. 13 Controlling Vertebrate Pests in Museums, 1991.
  3. No. 21 Coatings for Display and Storage in Museums, 1999.
Other publications
  1. Alberta Museums Association. Basic Principles of Artifact Storage. Calgary: Alberta Museums Association, 1993.
  2. Barclay, R.L., A. Bergeron, and C. Dignard. Mount-making for Museum Objects. Ottawa: Canadian Conservation Institute, 1998.
  3. Hillberry, J.D., and S.K. Weinburg. "Museum Collection Storage." pp. 155-175 in Care of Collections (edited by S.J. Knell). New York: Routledge, 1994.
  4. Johnson, E.V., and J.C. Horgan. Museum Collection Storage. Technical Handbooks for Museums and Monuments. Protection of Cultural Heritage. No. 2. Paris: UNESCO, 1979.
  5. Lowell, P.N., ed. "Conservation." pp. 211-487 in Manual of Curatorship: A Guide to Museum Practice (edited by J.M.A. Thompson). London: Butterworth-Heinemann, 1992.
  6. Tétreault, J. "Matériaux de construction, matériaux de destruction." pp. 163-176 in La conservation préventive. Paris: Preprints of the Third Colloquium of the Association des Restaurateurs d'Art et d'Archéologie de Formation Universitaire, 1992. [English translation available from CCI.]

Top of page

Systems

Environment

Environmental conditions in storage areas should be similar to those in display areas.

Ensure that lighting has an intensity of 150 lx or less, and an ultraviolet content of no more than 75 µW/lm. Turn lights off when they are not needed. Eliminate external sources of daylight with drapes or blinds, or by boarding up the windows.

Maintain temperature and RH at levels appropriate to the collections, and avoid extremes and excessive fluctuations. Monitor temperature and RH levels regularly.

Ensure adequate air circulation to discourage mould growth and insect attack.

Do not store objects near furnace pipes, radiators, or air vents.

If possible, install dust control and air filtering systems.

When planning a new storage area or redesigning an existing one, consult a conservator to determine the type of storage equipment needed, the proper use of space, and the most appropriate environmental conditions based on artifact requirements.

Safety and security

Prepare a disaster plan covering as many contingencies as possible, including flood, fire, break-in, and any possible natural agents in the locality of the museum. Ensure that all staff are aware of their duties and responsibilities in the event of an emergency.

CCI will loan environmental monitoring equipment to institutions for a small fee.
For more information contact:

Enquiry Services
Canadian Conservation Institute
1030 Innes Road
Ottawa ON K1B 4S7
Tel.: 613-998-3721
Fax: 613-998-4721
E-mail: cci-icc.services@pch.gc.ca

Do not store flammable materials (e.g. solvents, paints, varnishes, waxes, etc.) in or near the collection storage rooms. Identify any fire hazards (e.g. trash, electrical fittings, etc.) and take steps to eliminate them.

Top of page

Inform the local fire service of any hazardous objects (e.g. firearms, ammunition, poisons, cellulose nitrate film, etc.) in the collection. Take steps to render this material as safe as possible, and record this information.

Keep fire extinguishers (the dry chemical or CO2 type will cause the least damage to a collection) ready for use near the entrance to each storage room, and train all museum staff in their operation. Equip rooms with an early-warning fire alarm system that includes an automatic extinguishing system. If a sprinkler system is installed, ensure that it is configured to minimize the amount of water discharged in the event of a fire.

If possible, install security alarms or continuously monitor all museum facilities. Install locks on all facilities, and strictly control the location and number of keys.

If the institution is located in an area subject to seismic activity or to vibration, take measures to secure the collections and protect them from falling debris.

Further reading

CCI Notes (Ottawa: Canadian Conservation Institute)
  1. 2/4 Environmental Monitoring Kit, 1998.
  2. 2/6 Fire Protection Issues for Historic Buildings, 1998.
  3. 2/7 Museum Fires and Losses, 1998.
  4. 2/8 Automatic Sprinkler Systems for Museums, 1998.
CCI Technical Bulletins (Ottawa: Canadian Conservation Institute)
  1. No. 18 Fire Prevention Programs for Museums, 1997.
  2. No. 19 Security Hardware and Security System Planning for Museums, 1998.
Other publications
  1. Cassar, M. Environmental Management: Guidelines for Museums and Galleries. London: Routledge, 1994.
  2. Craddock, A.B. "Control of Temperature and Humidity in Small Collections." pp. 15-22 in Conservation Concerns: A Guide for Collectors and Curators (edited by K. Bachmann). Washington, DC: Smithsonian Institution Press, 1992.
  3. Thomson, G. The Museum Environment, 2nd ed. London: Butterworths, 1986.

Top of page

Inspection and Maintenance

It is extremely important to carry out regular inspections to monitor the condition of objects and to identify potential problems before they occur. A clean, well organized storage area will facilitate easy access to the collection for inspection, and will minimize the potential for overlooking problems. Inspection routines can be broken down in a number of ways; daily, weekly, and longer-period inspections are perhaps the easiest for staff to put in place and maintain.

Daily inspection

Give the storage area a cursory inspection every day to pick up signs of trouble such as leaking pipes, condensation, etc. Check RH and temperature daily and record the values for future reference (recording hygrothermographs take the labour out of this task). If no controls are installed, or if systems are not working, move sensitive objects to a safer, more stable location during periods of excessive environmental fluctuations. It is not necessary to examine objects in detail unless there are known problems that need continual monitoring.

Weekly inspection

Check artifacts and storage units located in different parts of the storage area for signs of insect infestation. In addition, look for accumulated dust or debris, as such traces are an indication of problems. Dust is abrasive and it also reacts with moisture to accelerate chemical degradation, making it important to keep storage areas as clean as possible. If necessary, perform regular housekeeping procedures: vacuum the room and storage facilities (but not the artifacts); avoid cleaning compounds that may cause damage if they come into contact with artifacts; instruct janitorial staff in safe methods of washing floors in the vicinity of artifacts.

Briefly inspect the objects in the storage area to ensure that they are adequately covered, well supported, and in their proper locations.

Quarterly or semi-annual inspection

Inspect all objects in storage for signs of damage or other changes in condition (such information should become part of the documentation unique to each artifact). If any change in condition of objects is discovered, take whatever steps are necessary to prevent additional damage.

Check all wood, leather, paper, textile, and other organic materials for evidence of infestation and mould growth, especially after hot, humid periods. Examine metals for signs of active corrosion.

Inspect all mounts, padding, covering, and storage materials to ensure they are still doing their job.

Examine and calibrate environmental monitoring equipment. Check light levels and inspect all electrical equipment. Assess pipes, ventilators, radiators, and other installations for proper function and signs of problems. Inspect all heating and ventilating, fire protection, and security systems, and perform any necessary maintenance.

Care of objects

Each class of objects in a museum collection requires care of a specific nature. It is important to discriminate between techniques used for the general care of objects, and techniques applied by specialists for restorative treatment and repair. Information on the basic care of a wide variety of artifact materials is dealt with in the CCI Notes series, some of which are referenced below. Treatment beyond that described is best left in the hands of a conservator.

Top of page

Further reading

CCI Notes (Ottawa: Canadian Conservation Institute)
  1. 6/1 Care of Ivory, Bone, Horn and Antler, 1988.
  2. 6/2 Care of Basketry, 1988.
  3. 6/3 Care of Canoes, Kayaks and Umiaks, 1989.
  4. 6/5 Care of Quillwork, 1988.
  5. 8/1 Removing Mould from Leather, 1993.
  6. 8/2 Care of Alum, Vegetable, and Mineral Tanned Leather, 1992.
  7. 8/3 Care of Mounted Specimens and Pelts, 1988.
  8. 8/4 Care of Rawhide and Semi-Tanned Leather, 1992.
  9. 9/1 Recognizing Active Corrosion, 1997.
  10. 11/2 Storing Works on Paper, 1995.
  11. 13/2 Flat Storage for Textiles, 1993.
  12. 13/3 Rolled Storage for Textiles, 1993.
  13. 13/5 Hanging Storage for Costumes, 1994.
  14. 15/1 Care of Objects Made of Rubber and Plastic, 1997.
  15. 16/1 Care of Encased Photographic Images, 1995.
  16. 16/4 Care of Black-and-White Photographic Prints, 1996.
CCI Technical Bulletins (Ottawa: Canadian Conservation Institute)
  1. No. 4 The Care of Musical Instruments in Canadian Collections, 1982.
  2. No. 8 The Care of Wooden Objects, 1982.
  3. No. 16 Care and Preservation of Firearms, 1995.
Other publications
  1. Bachmann, K., ed. Conservation Concerns: A Guide for Collectors and Curators. Washington, DC: Smithsonian Institution Press, 1992.
  2. Barclay, R.L., ed. The Care of Historic Musical Instruments. Edinburgh: CCI/MGC/CIMCIM, 1997.
  3. Crafts Council. Science for Conservators: Conservation Science Teaching Series. Volume 2: Cleaning. London, UK: Routledge/The Conservation Unit of the Museums & Galleries Commission, 1992.
  4. Gilles, T., N. Putt, and M. De von Flindt. The ABCs of Collections Care. Winnipeg: Manitoba Heritage Conservation Service, 1990.
  5. Knell, S.J., ed. Care of Collections. New York: Routledge, 1994.

Emergency Advice

Emergency advice is available to Canada's heritage community in the aftermath of a fire, flood, earthquake or other catastrophe.


Copies are also available in French.
Texte également publié en version française.

©Minister of Public Works and Government Services, Canada, 1990

Originally printed 1990
First revision 1992
Second revision 2002

Cat. No. NM95-57/1-1-2002E
ISSN 0714-6221


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our Help page.

Précautions à prendre pour les réserves - Généralités - Notes de l'ICC 1/1

(Format PDF, 1.69 Mo) *

La Note de l'ICC 1/1 fait partie de la première série des Notes de l'ICC (Entretien des collections - principes généraux)

Introduction

La plupart des musées ne peuvent exposer qu'un faible pourcentage de leur collection. C'est pourquoi de nombreux objets doivent passer la majeure partie de leur vie muséale en réserve. Ces objets en réserve sont aussi importants que ceux exposés et nécessitent la même protection à long terme. Des réserves bien conçues et régulièrement entretenues sont donc extrêmement importantes. La présente Note est une introduction de base à ce sujet complexe et comprend plusieurs listes de lectures conseillées à la fin de chaque section pour consultation complémentaire.

Réserves

Emplacement

Les réserves doivent être situées préférablement à distance des endroits publics. Elles devraient être au centre du bâtiment et à l'écart des murs extérieurs, sans corridors étroits, sans voies d'accès à angle prononcé, sans escaliers et sans portes étroites (plus l'accès est facile, moins il y a de risque de négligence). Les sous-sols et les greniers ne conviennent habituellement pas compte tenu des fluctuations de température, des extrêmes d'humidité relative et des possibilités de fuites et d'inondations. Les dégâts causés par l'eau sont une menace pour les réserves peu importe où elles se trouvent dans un musée. Les canalisations d'eau et de vapeur constituent un risque en raison des possibilités de fuite et de condensation. Par conséquent, les réserves doivent se trouver à distance des conduites. Si cela n'est pas possible, inspectez les canalisations régulièrement. S'il y a des risques d'inondation, aménagez les réserves au-dessus de la plaine d'inondation; installez des détecteurs d'eau et des pompes de puisards au besoin. Par mesure de sécurité supplémentaire, on enlève les objets du sol pour les placer sur des étagères, sur des plates-formes ou sur des cales, et on les recouvre de feuilles de plastique, mais de façon à ce que l'air puisse circuler librement sous le plastique.

Dans la mesure du possible, entreposez les objets dans un endroit distinct de celui où l'on range le matériel ne faisant pas partie des collections (supports, cartons et matériaux d'emballage, peinture, outils, et autres fournitures par exemple).

À leur arrivée au musée, les objets et autres matériaux devraient être gardés dans un lieu d'attente séparé. Ils peuvent ainsi s'acclimater lentement dans ce lieu d'attente temporaire à l'environnement du musée avant d'être déballés et inspectés. Les objets infestés d'insectes ou de moisissures peuvent être isolés dans cette zone, ce qui empêche toute prolifération dans le reste du musée.

Haut de la page

Unités de rangement

Différentes catégories d'objets appellent différentes méthodes de mise en réserve telles que supports, grilles, étagères et armoires en métal ou en bois, armoires à tiroir, plates-formes et système de rangement sur rouleaux. Le choix de la méthode et des matériaux dépend des ressources disponibles et des types d'objets entreposés. Les unités, quelles qu'elles soient, doivent être constituées de matériaux chimiquement inertes et présentant une bonne stabilité chimique à long terme. Les mêmes règles s'appliquent aux matériaux d'emballage, de calage et de soutien. Les peintures et autres produits de finition appliqués sur les unités de rangement doivent également avoir une stabilité éprouvée.

Procédures

Dans le cas des musées saisonniers qui sont sans chauffage pendant l'hiver, videz les canalisations à l'automne pour éviter qu'elles ne gèlent. Inspectez régulièrement le toit, les murs non isolés, la tuyauterie suspendue du plafond et toutes autres installations pour s'assurer qu'il n'y a pas de fuite ni de condensation.

Il faut interdire à tous de fumer, et d'entreposer et de consommer des aliments ou des boissons dans les réserves. Des écriteaux doivent être installés pour le rappeler.

On veillera à ce que les réserves soient fermées à clé et à ce que des personnes habilitées contrôlent non seulement l'accès à ces pièces mais aussi l'entrée et la sortie des objets.

Les travaux non liés à la mise en réserve des objets doivent être effectués ailleurs. Par exemple, la préparation des meubles d'exposition, les travaux d'encadrement, l'emballage des objets pour le déménagement et autres activités semblables ne doivent pas être effectués dans les réserves. Utilisez les postes de travail de la réserve pour les seules tâches liées à la documentation et aux déplacements de la collection.

Ouvrages à consulter

Notes de l'ICC (Ottawa, Institut canadien de conservation)
  1. 1/3 Préparatifs de fermeture d'hiver dans les musées, 1988.
  2. 3/1 Stratégies de lutte préventive contre les infestations et méthodes de détection, 1996.
  3. 14/2 Mesures d'urgence pour les établissements culturels : détermination et réduction des risques, 1995.
Bulletins techniques de l'ICC (Ottawa, Institut canadien de conservation)
  1. No 12 Le contrôle des moisissures dans les musées, 1991.
  2. No 13 La lutte contre les vertébrés nuisibles dans les musées, 1991.
  3. No 21 Revêtements pour l'exposition et la mise en réserve dans les musées, 1999.
Autres publications
  1. Alberta Museums Association. Basic Principles of Artifact Storage, Calgary, Alberta Museums Association, 1993.
  2. Barclay, R.L., A. Bergeron et C. Dignard. Supports pour objets de musée : de la conception à la fabrication, 2e édition, Ottawa, Institut canadien de conservation, 2002.
  3. HILLBERRY, J.D. et S.K. WEINBURG. « Museum Collection Storage », Care of Collections, sous la dir. de S.J. Knell, New York, Routledge, 1994, p. 155-175.
  4. JOHNSON, E.V. et J.C. HORGAN. La mise en réserve des collections de musée, Cahiers techniques. Musées et monuments, Protection du patrimoine culturel, no 2, Paris, UNESCO, 1979.
  5. LOWELL, P.N. (dir.) « Conservation », Manual of Curatorship : A Guide to Museum Practice, sous la dir. de J.M.A. Thompson, Londres, Butterworth-Heinemann, 1992, p. 211-487.
  6. TéTREAULT, J. « Matériaux de construction, matériaux de destruction », La conservation préventive, Paris, publication préliminaire du troisième colloque de l'Association des restaurateurs d'art et d'archéologie de formation universitaire, 1992, p. 163-176.

Haut de la page

Systèmes

Environnement

Les conditions ambiantes dans les réserves et dans les aires d'exposition doivent être semblables.

Assurez-vous que l'éclairement est de 150 lx au maximum et que le rayonnement ultraviolet ne dépasse pas 75 W/µm. Il faut veiller en outre à éteindre les lumières, lorsqu'elles ne sont pas nécessaires, et à empêcher la lumière du jour de pénétrer grâce à des rideaux ou à des stores, ou en condamnant les fenêtres.

Maintenez la température et l'humidité relative à des niveaux appropriés pour les collections et évitez les extrêmes et les fluctuations excessives. Contrôlez la température et le niveau d'humidité relative régulièrement.

Pour un coût modique, les institutions peuvent louer de l'ICC des instruments de mesure des conditions ambiantes.
Pour plus d'information, prenez contact avec :

Service à la clientèle
Institut canadien de conservation
1030, chemin Innes
Ottawa (Ontario) K1B 4S7
Tél. : 613-998-3721
Téléc. : 613-998-4721
Courriel : cci-icc.services@pch.gc.ca

Assurez une bonne circulation d'air afin d'empêcher la formation de moisissures et d'éloigner les insectes.

Les objets de musée ne doivent jamais être placés à proximité d'une canalisation de générateur d'air chaud, d'un radiateur ou d'un évent d'aération.

Si possible, installez des systèmes de contrôle de la poussière et de filtration de l'air.

Lorsque vous planifiez une nouvelle réserve ou le réaménagement d'une réserve déjà construite, consultez un restaurateur afin de déterminer le type de matériel d'entreposage requis, l'utilisation appropriée de l'espace et les conditions environnementales les plus appropriées basées sur les besoins des objets.

Sûreté et sécurité

Préparez un plan d'urgence englobant le plus d'éventualités possibles, notamment que faire en cas d'inondation, d'incendie, d'entrée par effraction, ou en présence de tout problème potentiel près du musée. Veillez à ce que les membres du personnel soient conscients de leurs tâches et de leurs responsabilités en cas d'urgence.

Haut de la page

N'entreposez pas de matériaux inflammables (solvants, peintures, vernis, cires, etc.) dans ou près des réserves. Cherchez toutes les sources potentielles d'incendie (déchets, raccords électriques, etc.) et éliminez-les.

Informez le service des incendies local de la présence de tout objet dangereux (armes à feu, munitions, poisons, films en nitrate de cellulose, etc.) dans la collection. Prenez des mesures pour rendre ces matériaux les plus sûrs possible et consignez cette information.

Conservez les extincteurs d'incendie prêts à être utilisés près de l'entrée de chaque salle de réserve. Les modèles à poudre chimique ou à gaz carbonique sont les moins dommageables pour une collection. Tous les employés du musée doivent apprendre à se servir correctement des extincteurs. Les salles doivent être munies d'un système d'alarme rapide comprenant un système d'extinction automatique. Si un système de gicleurs est installé, veillez à ce qu'il soit configuré pour réduire au minimum la quantité d'eau projetée en cas de feu.

Si possible, installez des alarmes de sécurité ou faites fréquemment des rondes de contrôle de toutes les installations du musée. Installez des verrous sur toutes les installations et contrôlez de façon stricte l'emplacement et le nombre de clés.

Si l'institution est située dans une zone sujette à des activités sismiques ou autres vibrations, prenez des mesures pour immobiliser les collections et les protéger des chutes de débris.

Ouvrages à consulter

Notes de l'ICC (Ottawa, Institut canadien de conservation)
  1. 2/4 Trousse d'instruments de mesure des conditions ambiantes, 1998.
  2. 2/6 La sécurité-incendie dans les bâtiments historiques, 1998.
  3. 2/7 Incendies dans les musées et pertes, 1998.
  4. 2/8 Systèmes d'extinction automatiques pour les musées, 1998.
Bulletins techniques de l'ICC (Ottawa, Institut canadien de conservation)
  1. No 18 Programmes de prévention des incendies dans les musées, 1997.
  2. No 19 Planification des systèmes et de la quincaillerie de sécurité dans les musées, 1998.
Autres publications
  1. CASSAR, M. Environmental Management : Guidelines for Museums and Galleries, Londres, Routledge, 1994.
  2. CRADDOCK, A.B. « Control of Temperature and Humidity in Small Collections », Conservation Concerns : A Guide for Collectors and Curators, sous la dir. de K. Bachman, Washington, DC, Smithsonian Institution Press, 1992, p. 15-22.
  3. THOMSON, G. The Museum Environment, 2e éd., Londres, Butterworths, 1986.

Haut de la page

Inspection et maintenance

Il est extrêmement important d'effectuer des inspections régulièrement afin de vérifier l'état des objets et d'identifier tout problème potentiel. Une réserve propre et bien organisée facilitera l'accès à la collection aux fins d'inspection et réduira les possibilités de négliger les problèmes. Les inspections régulières peuvent être divisées de plusieurs façons; cependant, les inspections quotidiennes, hebdomadaires et à plus long terme sont recommandées car elles sont plus faciles à organiser et à effectuer pour le personnel.

Inspections quotidiennes

Inspectez brièvement les réserves tous les jours pour relever les problèmes tels que des fuites de conduites, des traces de condensation, etc. Vérifiez le taux d'humidité relative et la température quotidiennement et consignez les résultats pour référence ultérieure (un thermohygrographe mécanique peut s'acquitter de cette tâche). Si aucun appareil de contrôle n'est installé ou si les systèmes ne fonctionnent pas, déplacez les objets plus sensibles dans des emplacements plus sûrs et plus stables pendant les périodes de fluctuations environnementales excessives. Il n'est pas nécessaire d'examiner les objets en détail sauf en présence de problèmes identifiés nécessitant un contrôle constant.

Inspection hebdomadaires

Vérifiez les objets et les unités de rangement situés dans les différentes parties des réserves pour relever toute trace d'infestation par les insectes. De plus, vérifiez s'il y a accumulation de poussière ou de débris, de telles traces étant des indices de problèmes. La poussière est un abrasif et elle accélère la dégradation chimique lorsque combinée à l'humidité. C'est pourquoi il est important de maintenir les réserves propres le plus possible. Effectuez le ménage au besoin en passant l'aspirateur sur le sol et sur les unités de rangement, mais jamais sur les objets eux-mêmes. évitez d'utiliser des produits de nettoyage qui risqueraient d'endommager par simple contact avec les objets. Le personnel d'entretien doit, pour sa part, apprendre à nettoyer, en toute sécurité, le sol qui se trouve à proximité de ces objets.

Inspectez brièvement les objets dans les réserves pour s'assurer qu'ils sont bien recouverts, soutenus et rangés.

Inspection trimestrielle ou semestrielle

Les objets doivent être examinés afin de déterminer s'ils ne présentent pas des indices de détérioration. Ces renseignements doivent être versés au dossier de chaque objet. Prenez le cas échéant les mesures nécessaires pour éviter qu'ils ne s'endommagent davantage.

Tous les bois, les cuirs, les textiles et les autres matériaux organiques doivent également être examinés afin de s'assurer qu'ils n'ont pas été attaqués, surtout après une période chaude et humide, par des insectes ou par des moisissures. Recherchez également tout signe de corrosion active des métaux.

Inspectez tous les supports et tous les matériaux de calage, de recouvrement et d'entreposage pour vous assurer qu'ils remplissent toujours bien leur fonction.

Vérifiez et étalonnez les appareils de contrôle des conditions ambiantes. Vérifiez l'éclairement et inspectez tous les appareils électriques. Vérifiez le fonctionnement des canalisations, des ventilateurs, des radiateurs et autres installations et relevez toutes traces de problème. Inspectez les systèmes de chauffage, de ventilation, de protection contre les incendies et de sécurité et effectuez les travaux de maintenance requis.

Soin des objets

Chaque classe d'objets de la collection d'un musée requiert des soins de nature spécifique. Il est important de distinguer entre les techniques utilisées pour les soins en général à apporter aux objets et les techniques appliquées par les spécialistes pour les traitements de restauration et de réparation. Vous trouverez de l'information sur les soins de base à apporter pour toute une gamme de matériaux composant les objets dans les Notes de l'ICC, dont certaines sont mentionnées ci-dessous. Les traitements allant au-delà de ce qui est décrit devraient préférablement être effectués par un restaurateur.

Haut de la page

Ouvrages à consulter

Notes de l'ICC (Ottawa, Institut canadien de conservation)
  1. 6/1 Entretien des objets en ivoire, en os, en corne et en bois de cervidé, 1989.
  2. 6/2 Entretien de la vannerie, 1989.
  3. 6/3 Le soin des canots, des kayaks et des oumiaks, 1993.
  4. 6/5 Entretien des objets ornés de piquants de porc-épic, 1990.
  5. 8/1 Nettoyage du cuir moisi, 1993.
  6. 8/2 Le soin des cuirs de tannage végétal et minéral, 1992.
  7. 8/3 Entretien des spécimens naturalisés et des peaux, 1989.
  8. 8/4 Le soin des cuirs bruts et semi-tannés, 1992.
  9. 9/1 Comment reconnaître la corrosion active, 1997.
  10. 11/2 La mise en réserve des œuvres sur papier, 1995.
  11. 13/2 Rangement à plat des textiles, 1993.
  12. 13/3 Rangement des textiles à l'aide de tubes, 1993.
  13. 13/5 Suspension des costumes en réserve, 1994.
  14. 15/1 La préservation des objets en caoutchouc ou en plastique, 1997.
  15. 16/1 Le soin des images photographiques présentées en coffret, 1995.
  16. 16/4 Le soin des épreuves photographiques en noir et blanc, 1996.
Bulletins techniques de l'ICC (Ottawa, Institut canadien de conservation)
  1. No 4 Le soin des collections canadiennes d'instruments de musique, 1982.
  2. No 8 L'entretien des objets en bois, 1982.
  3. No 16 Le soin et la préservation des armes à feu, 1995.
Autres publications
  1. BACHMANN, K. (dir.) Conservation Concerns: A Guide for Collectors and Curators, Washington, DC, Smithsonian Institution Press, 1992.
  2. BARCLAY, R.L. (dir.) The Care of Historic Musical Instruments, édimbourg, ICC/MGC/CIMCIM, 1997.
  3. CRAFTS COUNCIL. Science for Conservators : Conservation Science Teaching Series, Volume 2 : Cleaning, Londres, Routledge et Museums & Galleries Commission, 1992.
  4. GILLES, T., N. PUTT et M. DE VON FLINDT. Notions d'entretien des collections, Winnipeg, Service de conservation du patrimoine du Manitoba, 1994.
  5. KNELL, S.J. (dir.) Care of Collections, New York, Routledge, 1994.

Conseils pour situations d'urgence

L'ICC offre des conseils pour situations d'urgence à la communauté patrimoine canadienne suite à un incendie, inondation, tremblement de terre ou autre catastrophe.


Le présent texte est également publié en anglais.
Copies are also available in English.

©Ministre, Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada, 1983.

No de cat. NM 95-57/1-1-2002F
ISSN 1191-7237

Première édition 1983
1re révision 1992
2e révision 2002


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pur accéder a ce ficher, veuillez consultez la section Supports de substitution de notre page aide.